In partnership with Critterman of San Antonio

What you need to know.

Must be licensed with Texas Department of Agriculture

$

Apprentice

This is entry level. Can only do termite inspections with supervision.

$

Technician

Able to do termite inspections as long as employed by a registered company with Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA).

$

Certified Applciator

Can start own business and complete inspections on their own.

Training

$

Apprentice

20 hours classroom training in the general standards with at least two hours in each of the following subjects:

    • Federal and state laws that regulate the industry
    • Recognition of pests and pest damage
    • Pesticide labels and label comprehension
    • Pesticide safety
    • Environmental protection
    • Application equipment and techniques
    • Pesticide formulations and actions
    • Emergency procedures and pesticide cleanup, and procedures for immediate reporting of spills and misapplications
    • Basic principles of mathematics, chemistry, toxicology and entomology
    • Non-chemical pest control techniques, including biological, mechanical, and prevention techniques.

8 hours of classroom training in each category seeking licensure.

40 hours of on-the-job training in each category seeking licensure.

Apprentices must attend and participate in a SPCS approved technician training course prior to taking the technician exam.

$

Technician

Licensed technicians must complete eight hours of verifiable training for the calendar year of renewal year.  The verifiable training must be reported on a prescribed verifiable training record form and be verified for each annual renewal of the technician’s license.

  • Two of the eight hours of training may be on-the-job training or hands-on training.
  • Internet training or videotape training may be used if the certified applicator certifies that the training is the appropriate training.
  • Hour for hour credit will be given if a SPCS approved continuing education unit course is completed.
  • No courses may be repeated for credit per year.
  • Verifiable training records form must be kept on a format prescribed by SPCS in the business file for at least two years after termination of employment.
$

Certified Applciator

Have held a technician license for at least six months and been employed with duties including pest control services under the supervision of a licensed certified applicator for at least 12 of the last 24 months;

Have a degree in a biological science* and furnish an official copy of their college transcript. Associates and Bachelor Degrees Accepted

Have 12 months verifiable technical field experience in the past 24 months from another occupation. 

Supervision

$

Apprentice

In order to provide adequate supervision, the responsible certified applicator or designated certified applicator must be physically present to give verbal instructions to an apprentice at least three (3) days a week. The responsible certified applicator employed by the business must also be available during business operating hours for questions and instructions, as needed.

$

Technician

In order to provide adequate supervision, the responsible certified applicator or designated certified applicator must be physically present to give verbal instructions to an technician at least one (1) day a week. The responsible certified applicator employed by the business must also be available during business operating hours for questions and instructions, as needed.

$

Certified Applciator

The responsible certified applicator is responsible for the supervision and training of all licensed or registered personnel and the handling, storage and use of pesticides and devices by all employees of a pest control business.

The business license holder, and the responsible certified commercial applicator or certified noncommercial applicator shall be responsible for actions of employees when they are performing pest control operations.

Cost

$

Apprentice

A $125.00 licensing fee payed to Texas Department of Agriculture.

$

Technician

A $125.00 renewal fee paid to Texas Department of Agriculture.
$64 for each category exam.

$

Certified Applciator

A $125.00 renewal fee paid to Texas Department of Agriculture.

$64 for each category exam. Only need termite

Join Us As Soon As Today!

We will contact you and guide you in the steps to be a Texas termite inspector.

What would you like to do?

Current Status

Contact Us Anytime

Call for a Free Quote

(830)392-6657